Welcome to my Kuala Lumpur

This is my way of sharing my discoveries, re-discoveries, memories & experiences

as well as other bits & pieces of information I have of

growing up in Kuala Lumpur.

Your comments & suggestions to make this blog your reference to all things KL would be very much appreciated.

Search This Blog

About Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur often translated as “muddy river estuary” (kuala – estuary and lumpur – mud), is the capital of Malaysia.  It is usually referred to as KL by locals.

Kuala Lumpur probably had its origins in the mid-1800s when Raja Abdullah (the Chief of Klang) hired some Chinese laborers to prospect for tin at Ampang, Pudu and Batu.

These prospectors would have landed at the confluence of the Sungei Gombak and Sungei Klang and the area developed into a trading post.

Survival and self-preservation in a foreign land led the Chinese to band together into what became known as ‘Secret Societies’.  Foremost among them were the Ghee Hin and the Hai San Secret Societies.  Fights often broke out amongst the rival societies and these societies also took sides in the fights between the local Malay chiefs.

These fights disrupted the production of tin, prompting the British to appoint a Kapitan Cina (Chinese Headman) to administer Kuala Lumpur.

It was when Yap Ah Loy was appointed the third Kapitan Cina in 1868 that Kuala Lumpur developed from a small, obscure settlement into a booming mining town.
Kuala Lumpur in the late 1800's
(From photo on display at the Royal Selangor factory)
In 1880, the capital of Selangor was moved from Klang to Kuala Lumpur.  When fire engulfed the town’s wood and attap (thatch) buildings in 1981, the then British Resident, Frank Swettenham, required that buildings be constructed of brick and tile.

When the Federated Malay States was formed in 1896, Kuala Lumpur was chosen as the capital.  It remained the capital of the Federation of Malaya upon independence in 1957 and upon the formation of the Federation of Malaysia in 1963.

Kuala Lumpur was granted city status on 1 February 1972 and two years later, in 1974, it was declared a Federal Territory.

Kuala Lumpur remained the capital of Selangor until 1978 when Shah Alam was declared the new state capital.
Kuala Lumpur in 2010
(Photo taken from Bukit Tabur)

On 1 February 2001, Putrajaya (named after our first Prime Minister, YAM Tengku Abdul Rahman Putra) was declared a Federal Territory and the administrative and judicial functions of Government have since moved there from Kuala Lumpur.

Location and Climate

Kuala Lumpur is located on the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia, about 30 km inland.  It is sheltered by the Main Range (or Titiwangsa Range) on the east and the Straits of Malacca and Sumatra on the west.  There are several minor ranges, such as the Klang Gates Ridge, towards the north and south.

Kuala Lumpur enjoys an equatorial climate with rainfall throughout the year even during the driest months of June and July.  The temperature ranges between 22°C to 33°C.

No comments: